Concealed Handgun Classes
New CHL Class fee is $75.00 plus a $10.00 Range Fee if you are not a member of Midland Shooters Association, plus your on-line application State Fee which is $140.00 unless you are military, judicial, or a senior in which case you get a discount. Also there is a fee for electronic fingerprints which is $9.95.
A Concealed Handgun Class includes: a minimum of 4 to 6 hours of curriculum relating to the carrying of a Concealed Handgun in the State of Texas; Class room booklet: Written Test; and CHL-100 Completion form. The Shooting Proficiency test is in addition to the classroom time which will follow classroom time
Renewals can now be done by submitting your application online and paying the state fee.
You will need to apply on-line and pay your State Fee and make an appointment online to get your fingerprints done electronically. this can be done before or after you take the class.
NEW - You no longer need passport photos, the DPS now uses your Texas Driver's License Photo.
TO APPLY ON-LINE FOR A CONCEALED HANDGUN LICENSE FOR THE STATE OF TEXAS PLEASE FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS BELOW.
To view the Concealed Handgun Statutes & Related Weapons Laws (CHL-16) you may either read them online, download and save or print the current laws.
BEFORE CONTINUING please read the eligibility requirements in the Weapons Laws to make sure you are eligible for a CHL.
Click on Apply for a New Concealed Handgun License or Instructor Certificate and follow the instructions to apply. Once you have completed the payment process be sure to print your bar coded checklist, which is also your receipt.
After submitting your application to the State; go back to the home page and click L1 Electronic Fingerprint Locations to make an appointment. Electronic fingerprints will need to be done even if you have had your fingerprints taken before. You will need to have your driver’s license or state issued ID available when you make your appointment. The cost for this service is $9.95. If you have any questions concerning your fingerprints please call L1 Enrollment Services at 1-888-467-2080. The L1 Identity offices are located in Odessa and Midland Texas.
The handgun for this class must be at least a .32 caliber or larger. The test requires 50 rounds of ammunition, but I recommend that you bring 100 rounds in case of a malfunction or if you need to reshoot the test for any reason. You can now test with either a semi-automatic or a revolver.
You are welcome to bring drinks, snacks and food to class. Accepting cash or check only please.
If you have any questions, please contact Kaye or Max at your earliest convenience: Best time to reach us by phone is after 5:00 pm.
Max Mauldin 432-889-1091